Melplash Show 2018 Garden Competition Results

The annual Melplash Agricultural Society’s Garden Competition, the most prestigious garden competition in the West Dorset area, saw 24 gardens and allotments entered this year, stretching from Lyme Regis to Hinton St George.

The competition was judged over two days by last year’s overall winners and large garden winners, Colin and Sue Dyer, from Long Bredy, and the small garden winner,  Stephanie Harvey, from Bridport, accompanied by the society president Richard King and his wife, Ros, the chairman, Mrs Jo Sage, and vice-chairman James Vickery.   The stewards were Mr Peter Yeates and Mr Clifford Pitcher.

Richard King said: “All the gardens and allotments were fantastic, a real credit to their owners!  I am full of admiration for the work that has been done by them to get their gardens looking so good.”

Society chairman Jo Sage said: “It was a real privilege to see so many wonderful gardens this week.  Walking through their homes, opening the back door to be wowed by what is there is a real treat.

“One thing that really struck me was everyone’s enthusiasm for their gardens and their plants, from the tiny courtyard gardens to the large open gardens.”

Competition organiser Peter Yeates said: “This year was another impressive garden competition – well done to everyone who entered and our grateful thanks to the judges who had the difficult task of selecting the winners, and also to our sponsors this year, Bridport’s garden netting and fruit cage manufacturer  – W M James & Co.

“There were good entries in all the categories, and this year we are very pleased to be awarding the special prize to St Mary’s School in Bridport for their Edible Garden Project’.

All the prizes will be presented at this year’s Melplash Show on Thursday 23 August.

2018 Results

Large Gardens

Joint 1st                 Mrs Maggie Stones, Uploders

Joint 1st                 Mrs Joyce Newton, Bothenhampton

3rd                          Mr David Lloyd, Ryall

Medium Gardens

1st                           Mr & Mrs Tarling, Bridport

2nd                         Mrs Cynthia Parham, Powerstock

3rd                          Mr Les Loveridge, Lyme Regis

Small Gardens

1st                           Mrs Lorrie Ford, Bridport

2nd                         Mrs Jennifer Fry Nobbs, Mosterton

3rd                          Mrs Val Bartlett, Bridport


1st                           Mr & Mrs John and Christine Studley, Hinton St George

2nd                         Mr Donald Jolliffe, Netherbury

3rd                          Mr David Wood, Abbotsbury

OVERALL WINNER:  Mr & Mrs John and Christine Studley, Hinton St George

Special Award

The George Payne Memorial Trophy – St Mary’s School Edible Garden, Bridport